Epic Road Trip

21720_3981078380064_214912878_n

Last Tuesday I was returning from an epic, 6 day, 1600 mile road trip.  The impetus for the trip was a class I had in Southern California.  I decided that since I was there, I would take advantage of it!

After my class I was able to visit a handful of our college students. I never stay up that late, but we ate pizza, did some discipleshipy stuff and went back out to shut down a frozen yogurt place.  It was great having the chance to visit some of our college students in their “native habitat”.  I only wish I’d been able to visit more!

From there I took one student, her dad (also my friend!) and another former student now living in San Diego and headed to Ensenada, Mexico.  Our goal was to visit some of the ministry leaders that we work with there every summer, hopefully getting a better idea of how we can best support the visions and ministries which God has given them.  We spent roughly 30 hrs in Mexico.  It was too quick to be honest, but we got a lot done!

487927_3981077940053_67148979_n

6 Days, 2 days of class, 1600 miles, 5 college students, 1 former college student, 3 hotels, 2 1/2 audio books, 1 Mexican church service, 3 tacos, 4 surf sessions and 3 meetings with 5 different Ensenada ministry leaders!  It was a whirlwind to say the least.  But here’s what I reflected on as being beneficial to my ministry to young adults.

First- I took the time to see them.  Though I initially had a reservation that I’d be hindering their calendars of fun and homework, they expressed outright that they really appreciated my visit.  Like I said, I wish I could do this with all of our away students.  I don’t know how realistic it would be, but I see myself making this a priority if/when I travel within proximity to their schools.  It some ways it’s no different from the old youth ministry/evangelism strategies of going where they are rather than just expecting them to show up to our stuff!

539589_3981079500092_314332268_n

Second- We participated in kingdom building activity together.  Our mexico trip wasn’t a mission, but it had purpose.  We visited folks, made plans, shared dreams and prayed, prayed, prayed.  These efforts will bear fruit in our mission trip this upcoming summer and the students we brought are part of that.

One thought on “Epic Road Trip

Leave a Reply

